Which of these two prayers would God answer?

The Pentecostals and the Charismatics greatly err on the practice of prayers. They take prayer to be “commanding God into action”, “commanding situations to turn around to your taste”, etc. and they call such “effectual and fervent prayers.” In the Pentecostal, we believed the more “demonstration” and “shouting” and “commanding” we put into our prayers, the more effectual it is, and the more it will yield about our desired results.

The purpose of this article is not to enter into a debate about what “effectual and fervent” prayer is; many eminent men have done that, by the grace given them of God. But we all agree that “the sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise” (Psalm 51:17). Here I give you a parable. Two men had a similar case. The first had an only child who suddenly fell sick and came near unto death, whereupon the doctor tells him that there likely is no hope for his only child. This man then resolved to pray, and he prayed thus,

“In the name of Jesus, I stand upon the word of God that says ‘God has given me the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and that whatever I bind on earth shall be bind in heaven, and whatever I loose here on earth shall be loosed in heaven’, upon that promise I stand, and I command you demonic power assigned to take away my child to be destroyed. I bind you with the everlasting chains of God and I cast you into the pit of hell from where you came in the name of Jesus. I bind every occult and witchcraft manipulations working against my child, I command the angels of God into spiritual warfare against the powers of darkness assigned against my child. I loose my my child from the chains of premature death and I command life and health to enter into him. Yes, it is written that I shall decree a word and it shall be established, therefore, I decree healing, sound health and long life upon my child, in the name of Jesus. Yes, I know that at the name of Jesus every knee shall bow, therefore, I command the evil host of unclean spirits working against my child to bow. Premature death, I command you to bow! Diseases in the life and body of my child, I command you to bow! Right now, bow your knees in Jesus’ name and leave this body! It is written that by reason of the anointing, every yoke shall be broken, therefore, I anoint my child with the anointing for healing and long life, and I command every yoke of death around his body to be broken, right now! Death, evil spirit, diseases, right now, be broken! It is written that life and death are in the power of the tongue, therefore, I use the power of life present in my tongue right now to give life and healing to my child, in the mighty name of Jesus! Yes, thank you Lord, because it is written, ‘be it unto me according to my faith’, I receive what I believe. Yes, I claim it that it shall be to me according to my faith and not according to what the doctors said! By the blood of Jesus, I cancel the doctors’ report, I reverse every ugly news they have given me, I reject their words. I reject their evil report sponsored by Satan to steal my child. It shall be to me according to my faith, and not according to the doctors’ report. I claim it and so it shall be to me according to my faith, in Jesus’ name”.

The second man as well had an only child sick, and the doctors tell him that his child is very near death, and that nothing at this moment can be done, as far as medical science is concerned. The man then resolves to seek the face of God. He enters into a secret corner, and there he kneels down and prays thus weeping with tears,

“Almighty God to whom belongeth deliverance from death; Precious Father, Lord of heaven and earth who hath made the sea and all therein as it pleased him without any support from mortals, I turn to thee, the only hope of the hopeless. I turn to thee who alone has the final say. Please Lord, have mercy upon me and upon my only child that he may yet live again. Please, Lord, do not allow me to be grieved but show to me your mercy at this time, for I cannot help my child now. Please Lord, heal my child, strenghthen his body again to respond to treatment, and turn away this death from him. Lord, have mercy upon a wretch like me and heal my child. I do not deserve this kindness from thee, O Lord, but for thy own praise, and thy own praise alone, let this my only child live before thee again. Extend thy merciful kindness of old to us at this time, and be gracious to us. Please lord, hear and have mercy upon us……”

Which of these two prayers proceeds from a broken heart, and which of these two prayers do you think God will be pleased to answer?

The one you judge to be pleasing to God, that one is the “effectual fervent prayer of the righteous”, and that one is the one you should follow in practice.

3 thoughts on “Which of these two prayers would God answer?

  1. The second prayer is like that of the Puritans and ancient Divines, proceeding from a broken heart, and with an eye on God’s sovereignty and supremacy; whereas, the first prayer is like the prayers of the present Charismatic Religion of Benny Hinn, T. D. Jake, & c.

    The second prayer shows a soul coming empty-handedly to God as a beggar; but the first prayer is that of a proud soul soul, who, instead of approaching God as a poor beggar, comes violently upon God, to rob him of his power, and glory, and to force him to grant his selfish desires.

    “God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace to the humble.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

